Bilingualism: a multiple personality case

[Scroll down for English]

Nas minhas deambulacoes pela blogosfera, fui dar a este blogue onde encontrei uma referencia este artigo. De acordo com alguns estudiosos, pessoas biligues podem ter diferentes personalidades, consoante a lingua em que estao a falar. A minha experiencia diz-me que nao sera exactamente uma questao de ter diferentes personalidades mas, sem sombra de duvida, que a forma de me expressar, em ingles ou portugues, e diferente. Adoptar os maneirismos proprios da lingua em que se fala, parece-me mais do que normal. A lingua, sendo um dos factores culturais mais importantes e obvios, revela essa diferenca.

Se em portugues me expresso melhor do que em ingles – o que e perfeitamente natural porque e a minha lingua materna – quando falo em ingles, acabo por usar, mais do que a lingua, formas de expressao inglesas. Por exemplo, o meu namorido – chamemos-lhe Guilherme – diz que quando falo em portugues, tendo a falar mais alto. Outro aspecto e a gesticulacao. Em ingles gesticulo menos e o contacto fisico, pequenos toques como por a mao no ombro de alguem enquanto se fala, sao evitados. Este processo, contudo, nao e absolutamente natural. De vez em quando, la faco qualquer coisa que sei que e visto como invasao de espaco. Faco por me adaptar e respeitar essa forma de estar, sem no entanto, perder (o que, de resto, seria quase impossivel), o meu lado portugues, que e rico e que e uma parte de mim. E neste jogo de cintura que aqueles que estao fora do seu pais vivem constantemente. Contudo, nao o vejo como uma subtraccao daquilo que somos, mas antes como uma adicao a toda a bagagem cultural que trazemos desde o berco. Para quem se interessa por estas questoes, e sem duvida, um artigo a nao perder.

Image

In my wanderings around blogs, I ended up in this blog where I found a reference to this article. According to some scholars, bilingual people may have different personalities, depending on the language they are speaking at the moment. My experience tells me it is not exactly a matter of having different personalities but, without question , the way I express myself, in English or in Portuguese, is different. Adopting the mannerisms of the language you are speaking seems to me more than natural. The language, being one of the most important and obvious cultural factors, reveals this difference .

I express myself better in Portuguese than in English – which is perfectly natural as it is my mother tongue – but when I speak in English I end up using not just the language, but I also express myself in an English manner. For example, my bousband*- let’s call him Guilherme- says that when I speak in Portuguese I tend to speak louder. Gesticulation is another side of it. In English I gesticulate less as gesticulation and physical contact, such as touching someone’s shoulder while you’re talking to them, are avoided. This process, however, was not entirely natural to me. Occasionally, I still make a gesture that I know that will be seen as an invasion of private space. I try to adapt and respect this cultural aspect, without losing, however, my Portuguese side (would be almost impossible) which is rich and and a part of me. It is this feeling of walking on eggshells that those who live abroad must deal with on a daily basis. However, I do not necessarily see it as a subtraction to what we are, but rather as an addition to the cultural baggage we carry from birth. For those interested in these issues this is an article not to be missed.

Image taken from here.

*Bousband = Boyfriend + Husband

Leave a Reply

