The Road Less Travelled

I’ve read The Road Less Travelled many years ago. It wasn’t an easy read but the lessons I’ve taken from it still come to my mind every now and then. I clearly remember one or two passages and in particularly difficult moments they come to me as a reminder that ultimately I am the only one to be accountable for my life.

In the last few months I’ve been thinking more and more about this book and on my short trip to Portugal 2 weeks ago I saw it laying on my sister’s table. I thought of “stealing” it from her but then I thought that I would be unable to share it with my lovely Englishman. I will need to get the original.

Some chapters of the book may be quite challenging. In fact, all the book is and that’s why it is such an inspiring read. But I feel that when I read it I still wasn’t “ready” for some of Dr Peck’s insights, which is another reason why to re-read it.

Here’s the begin. Raw but honest. Just like life.

Life is difficult. This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths. It is a great truth because once we truly see this truth, we transcend it. Once we truly know that life is difficult – once we truly understand and accept it – then life is no longer difficult. Because once it is accepted, the fact that life is difficult no longer matters.

M. Scott Peck

book-the-road-less-traveled-e8296

Leave a Reply

