Chimamanda, the Americanah

[Scroll down for English]

Conheci a Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie ha poucos meses atraves de uma Ted Talk. Rendi-me a ela, a forma como fala e ao tema que brilhantemente deslindou nos 18 minutos que lhe sao devidos. Fiquei para la de curiosa para conhecer o seu ultimo trabalho, Americanah, que me foi tambem recomendado pelo meu pai, um avido leitor em cujo gosto e bom senso confio. Andei a namorar o livro algum tempo e so nao o comprei antes porque estou “obrigada” a ler 3 outros livros ate Junho. Ontem, depois de muito namoro no Goodreads e Amazon, finalmente chegou o livro. Li as primeiras 20 paginas e nao me desiludi. Uma escrita crua mas suave sobre o que e isto de estar do lado de fora, sobre desafios, aquilo que e dito e, sobretudo, aquilo que nao e nunca dito mas esta sempre la: a diferenca e a falta de pertenca a um pais que nao e o nosso. Chimamanda, a nigeriana emigrada nos Estados Unidos, conquistou-me.

Image

I get to know Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie a few months ago through a Ted Talk. I completely surrendered to the way she speaks and by the topic that she brought into discussion in the 18 minutes given to each speaker. I became more and more curious in regards to her last work, Americanah, that was also recommended to me by my dad, a voracious reader whose taste and judgement I trust. I was “flirting” the book for a while and didn’t get it earlier only because I’m being “obliged” to read 3 other books until June. Yesterday, after lots of flirtation on Goodreads and Amazon, the book finally arrived. I’ve read the first 20 pages and I am not disappointed. A raw but gentle writing about what it feels like to be an outsider, about challenges, all that it spoken and mostly, that that is never spoken but is there: the difference and the lack of a belonging feeling in a country that isn’t ours. Chimamanda, the Nigerian emigrated in the United States, has conquered me.

Leave a Reply

